Time is a Book

The organisers of the 2009 Time Festival in Ghent invited artists Els Dietvorst and Dirk Braeckman to curate the event. From the perspective of their concerns about the condition and the future of the world, the curators decided to make a clear statement: Time 2009 would be a book rather than a festival, a place to think rather than an event. Based on their own respective artistic practices, a large number of artists participated in producing the publication. The book was distributed free of charge. The contributing artists included Chantal Akerman, ACM & Els Dietvorst, Robert Adams, Philip Aguirre y Otegui, Herman Asselberghs, Orla Barry, John Berger, Yves Berger & Daniel Michiels, Dirk Braeckman & Peter Verhelst, Wang Bing, Bitter / Weber, Bureau d’Etude, Boris Charmatz, Wim Cuyvers, Carl De Keyzer, Clayton Eshleman, Belu Simion Fainaru, Jasmina Fekovic, Nikolaus Gansterer, Mekhitar Garabedian, Pieter Geenen, Elias Grootaers, Jitka Hanzlova, Stefan Hertmans, Craigie Horsfield, Suchan Kinoshita, Mark Klett, Franciska Lambrechts, Marije Langelaar, Dirk Lauwaert, Lynne Cohen & Andrew Lugg, Mark Manders, Susan Meiselas, Jean-Luc Moulène, Simon Norfolk, Honoré ∂’O, Ben Okri, Rimini Protokoll Produktionsburo, Gerry Smith, Guy Tillim, Moniek Toebosch, Ana Torfs, Marc Trivier, Jens Ullrich, An van Dienderen, Sarah Vanagt, Apichatpong Weerasethakul, Eliot Weinberger, Lawrence Weiner and Katarina Zdjelar.